Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Nova and Supernova Award Requirements

Nova Award Patch

 Nova and Supernova Awards Program
Cub Scouts and Webelos Scouts

The original requirements listed on this site were taken from the
Cub Scout
Nova Awards Guidebooks
(34032 / SKU-614935) (34033 / SKU-614936) (34031 / SKU-614934) 2012 Printing
Updates were taken from various pages on

STEM is an acronym representing Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.

About the Nova Awards Program

The Boy Scouts of America’s NOVA Awards program incorporates learning with cool activities and exposure to science, technology, engineering and mathematics for Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, and Venturers. The hope is that the requirements and activities for earning these awards stimulates interest in STEM-related fields and shows how science, technology, engineering and mathematics apply to everyday living and the world around them. Counselors and mentors help bring this engaging, contemporary, and fun program to life for youth members.

There are awards designed for youth in the Cub Scout, Boy Scout, and Venturing programs, and are optional in each program. Requirements must be completed while registered in the BSA in the appropriate program and subject to standard age limitations.

The Nova Awards

There are seven Nova awards for Cub Scouts and Webelos Scouts, five for Boy Scouts, and four for Venturers and Sea Scouts. Each award at each program level covers one component of STEM – science, technology, engineering, or mathematics. The additional Cub Scout awards covering Earth Science, Wildlife and the natural world around you, and Space Exploration, were added in 2015, and the fifth Boy Scout award, covering Agriculture was added in 2017..

  • Cub Scout and Webelos Scout Nova awards:
    • Science Everywhere,
    • Tech Talk,
    • Swing!
    • 1-2-3 Go!,
    • Down and Dirty,
    • Nova Wild!, and
    • Out of This World
Pi pin-on device For their first Nova award, Scouts earn the distinctive Nova award patch shown above. After that, a Cub Scout, Boy Scout, Venturer, or Sea Scout can earn three more Nova awards, each one recognized with a separate pi (π) pin-on device, shown to the left, that attaches to the patch . The patch and the three devices represent each of the four STEM topics – science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

The Supernova Awards

The Supernova awards have more rigorous requirements than the Nova awards. The requirements and activities were designed to motivate youth and recognize more in-depth, advanced achievement in STEM-related activities.

  • For Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts:
    • Dr. Louis Alvarez Supernova Award
  • For Webelos Scouts:
    • Dr. Charles H. Townes Supernova Award

For earning the Supernova award, Scouts receive a certificate and a medal, a sample of which is shown above.

All requirements may be found in the Nova awards guidebooks, available through local Scout shops – one for Cub Scouts and Webelos Scouts, one for Boy Scouts and Varsity Scouts, and one for Venturers and Sea Scouts. The requirements can be completed with a parent or an adult leader as the counselor (for the Nova awards) or mentor (for the Supernova awards). Each guidebook includes a section for the counselor and mentor.

The requirements for each of the Nova and Supernova awards are also available on BSA’s official web site, They are also available on this site and may be found using the links in the table below.

We have also created workbooks for use in documenting progress toward earning the various Nova and Supernova awards. There are links to the workbooks at the bottom of the web pages for each award, and in the table below.

  • The word processor versions of the workbooks have been prepared using the Microsoft Office 365 Suite (Word 2013) and are in the DOCX file format, which was introduced in 2007.  Consequently, in many cases they are NOT compatible with earlier versions on Microsoft Office or other word processors which do not support that file format. However, users of Microsoft Office XP, 2000 and 2003 can download a Compatibility Pack, by clicking here: By installing the Compatibility Pack you will be able to use Microsoft Office XP, 2000, or 2003 to open, edit, and save files using the file formats in newer versions of Word (DOCX), Excel (XLSX), and PowerPoint (PPTX) .
  • The PDF versions of the workbooks have been designed with form fields.  Scouts may download these files and then type their notes into the form fields, and save their work locally.  They have been tested successfully with the Adobe Acrobat Reader, the Foxit PDF Reader, and the Nuance PDF Reader.  Each of those programs are available as free downloads.

The workbooks are all © Copyright – U.S. Scouting Service Project, Inc. – All Rights Reserved.
The requirements are all © Copyright – Boy Scouts of America – and are used with permission.

Note: Effective June 1, 2015, the rank requirements for Cub Scouts changed (see [or on this site] for these new requirements). Cub Scouts working on the Nova awards or one of the Supernova awards during 2015 had two options: Complete the award no later than December 31, 2015, using the original requirements as published in the original Cub Scout Nova Awards Guidebook (No. 34032 / SKU 614935) or complete the award using the new requirements. Links to both the original and current requirements, and workbooks for each are provided below. In addition, subsequent changes were made by BSA which impact the Adventure loop requirements. Youth now have the opportunity to either earn an Adventure Loop specific to their rank OR complete an option which crosses all Cub Scout ranks. When they were announced, those changes became effective immediately. When earning a Nova, youth can choose whether to use the newly released requirements or the older requirements through 12/31/2017. Effective January 1, 2018, only the new requirements may be used. Links to the requirements as revised in 2015, and to the current requirements, and links to the workbooks for each are provided below.

The requirements for some of the Boy Scout and Venturing program awards have also changed from the original requirements.  Most of those changes were minor in nature. 

The original requirements and workbooks for all the awards may be seen by following links from the web pages for the current requirements, but the original requirements and the associated workbooks should no longer be used. 

Page updated on: August 29, 2017

© 2019 Pack 810 Chula Vista, CA - Boy Scouts of America | WordPress Admin
© 2019 Pack 810 Chula Vista, CA - Boy Scouts of America
WordPress Admin